December 2016 – Sal Patitucci

Tennis Ace of the Month – Sal Patitucci

Tennis Ace December 2016

Sal Patitucci

Where were you born and raised?

City of Cosenza, region of Calabria, Italy

If you aren’t from Pittsburgh or the surrounding areas, what brought you to Pittsburgh, PA?

I married and moved to Aspinwall, PA with my lovely wife.

At what age, where and with whom did you first begin playing tennis?

I began playing at 35 years of age at Chatham tennis court with Norman Bloom, Bill Feldman and others.

Did you play for any school teams?  If so, when and what schools?

No.

What level tennis player are you now?  What was your highest ranking?

My highest rating was/is 3 or 3.5 as a senior

Do you play in tournaments now?  If so, why?  If not, why not?

Yes, because I love tennis very much.

Do you prefer singles, doubles and or mixed play?  Why?

I like all the above categories.  I love to play and to be with people.

Name two of your favorite tennis players and tell why they are your favorites.

The past:  Bjorn Borg                       Present: Novak Djokovic

If you could ask each of them a question, what questions would you ask them?

I will ask each of them, “How do you keep your concentration and the strength of play well during the whole tournament?

What is it about the game that you like? Why?

The competition and the reason that it is so unpredictable to the end.

Is there anything about the game that you don’t like and if so, what is it and why?

No.

If you could change one thing about tennis, what would it be?

Nothing.

What do you consider the strongest aspect of your tennis game? Why?

Keeping healthy.

What part of your tennis game would you most like to improve? Why?

My serve. I’d like to have more power on my first serve.

Do you have a personal tennis match that stands out in your mind?  Please share the circumstances of that match with us.

The Pittsburgh Branch N.A.A.C.P./Diet Pepsi 22nd Annual Tennis Tournament really stands out to me.  I played in that tournament from 1993 to 2001.  In the year of 2000, I played the longest, final match with the score of 6-4, 4-6, 6-4.  The match lasted almost 3 hours.  In that match, I played against Jim McClain in the Super Tennis Event

Men’s Singles Championship match and I won.  During all those years, I won Senior Men’s Doubles and Runners Up.

Aside from tennis, in what other athletic activities have you participated?

Soccer

What is your favorite type of music?

Jazz, and internal pop music

Name your favorite musical artist/group?

ABBA

What is your favorite food?

My favorite food is Italian food: pasta carbonara, arancini and all the Italian food prepared by my wife, Elena, including tiramisu cake.

What can always be found in your refrigerator?

Italian food.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

Beaches and sunny weather.

What would most others be surprised to know about you?

I am very humble and friendly.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

Beside my love for tennis and soccer and football, I have been producing an Italian radio program with music and sport for many local radio stations since 1964.   At the present time I broadcast a daily program on WEDO 810 am from 3pm to 4pm.  I invite everyone to give a listen someday soon. Radio Italia.